WhatsApp, also named WhatsApp Messenger, is a cross-platform instant messaging and voice-over program released in 2009. It is available on iOS, Android, Microsoft Windows, and macOS devices.
This program allows you to send messages in text and voice, make voice and video calls, and send images, locations, and many other contents. It is quite useful in our daily life nowadays.
When you don’t need this program anymore, you can delete your WhatsApp account to protect your privacy. But you should be aware that your WhatsApp account cannot be restored once you delete it. Therefore, please think twice before the operation.
What Will Happen After WhatsApp Account Delete
Before you delete WhatsApp account, you’d better be aware of its consequences. As mentioned, if you delete it, you will not be able to access the account anymore. And it will erase your message history, remove you from all of your WhatsApp groups, and delete your Google Drive backup.
Your account information will be kept for up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion. After that, your WhatsApp information will be deleted. It won’t affect your information related to the groups you created or the information other users have relating to you, such as the message copies received from you.
WhatsApp may keep your information for things like legal issues, term violations, or harm prevention efforts, even after 90 days. Copies of your information may also remain in the backup storage of WhatsApp server.
You might also be interested: How To Recover Deleted WhatsApp Messages on iPhone — Best Way
How to Delete WhatsApp Account on Android
If you are using WhatsApp on an Android device, you can follow the steps below to delete WhatsApp account.
Step 1: Open the WhatsApp application.
Step 2: Tap the three-dot icon located in the top right corner.
Step 3: Select Settings > Account and tap the Delete My Account option.
Step 4: Input your phone number that is linked with your WhatsApp account and tap the Delete My Account button to confirm the operation.
Step 5: Uninstall the WhatsApp application on your mobile phone to free up storage space.
How to Delete WhatsApp Account on iOS
The steps to delete WhatsApp account are the same as that of Android. And you just need to launch the app, go to Settings > Account > Delete My Account. Then input your phone number and select the Delete My Account button to remove your WhatsApp account.
How to Deactivate WhatsApp If Your Phone Is Missing
If your phone is missing or stolen, it is better to deactivate WhatsApp account instead of deleting the account.
In this way, your account will not be deleted completely, which means you are still in your groups and your contacts can still see your profile. Your contacts can send messages to you and they will be in pending for up to 30 days. When you reactivate your account, you can receive these pending messages on your new phone.
Please remember to activate your account within 30 days. Otherwise, your WhatsApp account will be deleted permanently.
How to deactivate WhatsApp account?
The fastest way to deactivate WhatsApp account is to activate WhatsApp with a new SIM card with the same number on another phone. Because WhatsApp only allows your account to log to one device at a time.
Alternatively, you can send an email containing “ Lost/Stolen: Please deactivate my account” to WhatsApp. By the way, your phone number in full international format should also be included in the email.
ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Sherry has been a staff editor of MiniTool for a year. She has received rigorous training about computer and digital data in company. Her articles focus on solutions to various problems that many Windows users might encounter and she is excellent at disk partitioning.
She has a wide range of hobbies, including listening to music, playing video games, roller skating, reading, and so on. By the way, she is patient and serious.